Call for Proposals for the Joint Quantitative Political Science Conference for Asia and Australasia, January 9 -11, 2017, in Sydney, Australia

March 22, 2016

The University of Sydney is pleased to host the first joint meeting of the Asian Political Methodology group and the Australian Society for Quantitative Political Science. The joint conference (AsianPolmeth IV & ASQPS V) will build on the momentum of these two successful conferences, held separately since 2012.

The keynote speaker will be Douglas Rivers, Professor of Political Science at Stanford University, President and CEO of YouGov/Polimetrix, and Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution.

We welcome panel, individual paper, and poster proposals from any area of political science, using quantitative methods of analysis. Proposals may focus mainly on substantive contributions to knowledge in any subfield of political science, or on improvement of quantitative methods of political analysis.

Deadline for proposal submission is 16 September 2016. Please submit paper and poster proposals online here. Proposal submissions should include the title and abstract of up to 200 words, name and contact details for the lead author.  For individual submissions, please indicate whether you are proposing to present a paper or a poster. Panel proposals should include the panel title, titles and abstracts for 3-4 papers, chair/discussant name(s) and contact details, and should be emailed directly to:

The meeting will be held at the University of Sydney, hosted by the Department of Government & International Relations. Co-sponsors include: the Australian National University, Princeton University, University of Melbourne, and University of Sydney.


Benjamin E. Goldsmith, University of Sydney (organizing committee chair)
Svitlana Chernykh, Australian National University
Fang-Yi Chiou, Academia Sinica
Kentaro Fukumoto, Gakushuin University
Leonie Huddy, SUNY Stony Brook
Kosuke Imai, Princeton University
Aaron Martin, University of Melbourne
Xun Pang, Tsinghua University
Jong Hee Park, Seoul National University
Shaun Ratcliff, Monash University
Shawn Treier, Australian National University